List of Members


The Hon Mrs Justice Catherine McGuinness


Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh

Registrar and Deputy-President

An tOllamh Pól Ó Dochartaigh

University Professors/Associate Professors (5)

Professor Grace McCormack (Zoology)
Professor Tim O’Brien (Medicine)
Professor Vincent O’Flaherty (Natural Sciences)
Professor Terry Smith (Biomedical Eng Science)
Professor Breda Sweeney (Accountancy & Finance)

Other University Academic Staff (5)

Ms Ursula Connolly (School of Law)
Dr Anthony Grehan (Earth and Ocean Sciences)
Dr Ann Torres (School of Business)
Dr Anne O’Connor (Italian)
Dr Gerard Wall (Microbiology)

Other University Employees (3)

Ms Sinéad Beacom (Human Resources)
Dr Eric Mortimer (Information, Solutions and Services)
Mr Brendan O’Looney (Information, Solutions and Services)

Elected Officers of Comhaltas na Mac Léinn/Students’ Union (2)

Clare Austick (President)
Cameron Keighron (VP/ Education)

Postgraduate Student (1)

Mr Owen Ward

Nominations of External Organisations (3)

Ms Ruth Curran (IBEC)
Sinéad Uas. Ní Fhatharta (Údarás na Gaeltachta)
Dr Donagh O’Donoghue (IBEC)

University Graduates (4)

BGen Ger Aherne
Mr Conor Fottrell
Mr John Glynn
Mr Eoin Neylon

Local Authority Nominees (7)

Councillor John Keogh (Roscommon County Council)
Councillor Richard Finn (Mayo County Council)
Councillor Pauline O'Reilly (Galway City Council)
Councillor P.J. Kelly (Clare County Council)
Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady (Sligo County Council)
Councillor Michael Connolly (Galway County Council)
Councillor John McCartin (Leitrim County Council)

National University of Ireland Nominees (2)

Dr Catherine Caulfield
Mr Noel Daly

President of St. Angela’s College, Sligo

Ms Amanda McCloat

Artistic/Cultural Category (1)

Dr Ríonach Ní Néill

Minister’s Nominees (3)

Mr Harry McGee
Dr John Greally
Ms Madeleine Taylor-Quinn

Non-members in attendance

Professor Lokesh Joshi (Vice-President for Research)
Mr John Gill (Chief Operating Officer)
Prof Anne Scott (Vice-President for Equality & Diversity)
Ms Sharon Bailey (Bursar)
Mr Gearóid Ó Conluain (Rúnaí na hOllscoile)
Ms Clare McCann (Oifig an Rúnaí)

View the University Committee Structure here: University Committee Structure Jan 2017