University structure

The three pillars the organisational structure of NUI Galway are:

  • Údarás na hOllscoile
  • the Academic Council
  • and the University Management Team.

Údarás na hOllscoile

Údarás na hOllscoile, the University's governing authority, is responsible for managing and controlling all of the affairs of the University.

List of Members


  • The Hon Mrs Justice Catherine McGuinness


  • Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh

Registrar and Deputy-President

  • An tOllamh Pól Ó Dochartaigh

University Professors/Associate Professors (5)

  • Professor Grace McCormack
  • Professor Tim O'Brien
  • Professor Vincent O’Flaherty
  • Professor Terry Smith
  • Professor Breda Sweeney

Other University Academic Staff (5)

  • Ursula Connolly
  • Dr Anthony Grehan
  • Dr Pat Morgan
  • Dr Anne O'Connor
  • Dr Gerard Wall

Other University Employees (3)

  • Sinéad Beacom
  • Dr Eric Mortimer
  • Brendan O’Looney

Elected Officers of Comhaltas na Mac Léinn/Students’ Union (2)

  • Lorcán Ó Maoileannaigh (President)
  • Andrew Forde (Vice-President/Education)

Postgraduate Student (1)

  • Michelle Mitchell 

Nominations of External Organisations (3)

  • Ruth Curran (IBEC)
  • Sinéad Uasal Ní Fhatharta (Údarás na Gaeltachta)
  • Dr Donagh O’Donoghue (IBEC)

University Graduates (4)

  • BGen Ger Aherne
  • Conor Fottrell
  • John Glynn
  • Eoin Neylon

Local Authority Nominees (7)

  • Councillor John Cummins (Roscommon County Council)
  • Councillor Richard Finn (Mayo County Council)
  • Councillor Pearce Flannery (Galway City Council)
  • Councillor P.J. Kelly (Clare County Council)
  • Councillor Rosaleen O'Grady (Sligo County Council)
  • Councillor Eileen Mannion (Galway County Council)
  • Councillor John McCartin (Leitrim County Council)

National University of Ireland Nominees (2)

  • Dr Catherine Caulfield
  • Noel Daly

President of St. Angela’s College, Sligo

  • Dr Anne Taheny

Artistic/Cultural Category (1)

  • Garry Shannon

Minister’s Nominees (3)

  • Harry McGee
  • Dr John Greally
  • Madeleine Taylor-Quinn

 Non-members in attendance

  • John Gill (Cheif Operating Officer)
  • Professor Lokesh Joshi (Vice-President for Research)
  • Professor Anne Scott (Vice-President for Equality & Diversity)
  • Mary Dooley (Bursar)
  • Gearóid Ó Conluain (Rúnaí na hOllscoile)
  • Clare McCann (Oifig an Rúnaí)


Academic Council

The Academic Council is the chief academic authority and, subject to review by Údarás na hOllscoile, controls the academic affairs of the University, including the curriculum, instruction and education provided by the University.

Members of the Academic Council

ACTON, Dr. Thomas
BARRY, Professor Frank
BARRY, Prof. Margaret
BARTOLONI, Prof. Paolo
BYRNES, Dr. Lucy
CALLAGY, Professor Grace
CANTILLON, Professor Peter
CEREDIG, Professor Rod
CLARKE, Professor Michael
CONBOY, Dr. Kieran
COONEY. Dr. Adeline
CORMICAN, Professor Martin G.
COURELL, Mr. Declan
COX, Mr. John
CROOT, Professor Peter
CROWTHER, Professor Paul
CURRAN, Professor Henry
CURTIN, Professor Christopher A.
DECKER, Professor Stefan
De PAOR, An Dr. Louis
DESTRADE, Professor Michael
DINE, Professor Philip
DINEEN, Professor Sean
DOCKERY, Professor Peter
DOLAN, Professor Patrick 
DONOHUE, Professor Gary
DUFFY, Ms. Joanne 
DUNDON, Professor Tony
DUNNE, Professor Fidelma
EGAN, Professor Laurence
ELLIS, Professor Graham
ELLIS, Professor Steven G.
FINN, Professor David
FITZPATRICK, Professor Elizabeth
FLEMING, Dr. Declan
FRANK, Professor Uri
GILES, Professor Frank
GLACKEN, Dr. Michelle
GOLDEN, Professor William
GRIFFIN, Professor Matthew
GROARKE, Dr. Ann Marie
HAHESSY, Ms. Sinéad
HARTE, Dr. Annette
HARTNETT, Professor Michael
HAUGAARD, Professor Mark
HERRING, Dr Edward
HINDE, Professor John Philip
HODGINS, Dr. Margaret
HUGHES, Professor Brian
HURLEY, Professor William Gerard
JOHNSON, Professor Mark
JOSHI, Professor Lokesh
KELLY, Professor John
KELLY, Ms. Tatiana
KEOGH, Professor Ivan James
KERIN, Professor Michael
LAFFEY, Professor John
LAHUE, Professor Robert
LEAHY, Professor Martin
LEECH, Professor Donal
LEEN, Professor Seán
LEYDON, Professor Kevin
LOFTUS, Dr. Kieran
LONERGAN, Dr. Patrick
LONG, Professor Ronan
LOWNDES, Professor Noel F.
LYONS, Ms. Rena
LYONS, Professor Gerard
MADDEN, Dr. Michael 
McCARTHY, Professor Peter A.
McDONALD, Professor Colm
McDONOUGH, Professor Terence
MCGREGOR, Professor Caroline
MCGUINN, Ms. Nuala
McGUIRE, Dr. Brian
McHALE, Professor John
McHUGH, Professor Peter
McINTOSH, Professor Caroline
MCSTAY, Professor Brian
MORGAN, Dr. Fearghal
MORRISON, Professor Ciarán
MORRISON, Professor John
MURPHY, Professor Andrew W.M.
MURPHY, Professor Kathleen
MURPHY, Professor Paul V.
MURPHY, Professor Ray
NASHEUER, Professor Heinz-Peter
NÍ DHONNCHADHA, An tOllamh Máirín
Ó BRAONÁIN, An tUas Donáll
O’BRIEN, Professor Timothy
O'Connell, Professor Donncha
O’CONNELL, Professor Michael
Ó CRÓINÍN, An tOllamh Dáibhí
O'DONNELL, Professor Martin
O’DONOGHUE, Professor Pádraic E.
O’DOWD, Dr. Colin
O’DWYER, Professor Michael
O’FLAHERTY, Professor Michael
O’FLAHERTY, Professor Vincent
O'GARA, Professor James
Ó LAIGHIN, An tOllamh Gearóid
O’LEARY, Dr.  Patrick
OLIVO, Professor Malini Carolene
O’NEILL, Professor Ciarán
O’REGAN, Professor Dónal
Ó SHEA, Professor Eamon
O’SULLIVAN, Professor David
PANDIT, Professor Abhay
PFEIFFER, Professor Gotz
PICARD, Mr. Karl (undergraduate student)
PILKINGTON, Professor Lionel
QUINN, Professor Gerard
QUINN, Dr. Kate
RICHARDSON, Professor Bill
RYAN, Dr Ray
RYDER, Professor Seán
SAMALI, Professor  Afshin  
SANBING, Professor Shen 
SANTOCANALE, Professor Corrado
SARMA, Dr. Kiran
SCHARF, Professor Thomas
SCHMIDT-HANNISA, Professor Hans W.
SCULLION, Professor Hugh
SEOIGHE, Professor Cathal 
SHEN, Professor Sanbing
SHIEL, Professor Agnes
SMITH, Professor Terry
SPILLANE, Professor Charles
STROHMAYER, Professor Ulf
SULLIVAN, Professor Frank
SULLIVAN, Professor Kevin
SU President
SWEENEY, Professor Breda
TREACY, Ms. Ciara 
TUITE, Professor Michael
TULLY, Ms. Agnes
WALSH, Professor Stewart
WHEATLEY, Professor Antony
WILLIAMS, Professor Michael D.
WOODS, Professor Rob


University Management Team

This team is led by the President who is the Head and Chief officer of the University and appointed for a 10-year period. Acting under the President, the various members of the University Management Team (UMT) each have a specific area of responsibility.

Members of the UMT

President Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh
Registrar and Deputy-President  Professor Pól Ó Dochartaigh
Rúnaí na hOllscoile Gearóid Ó Conluain
Bursar Mary Dooley
Chief Operations Officer John Gill
Vice-President for Innovation and Performance Professor Chris Curtin 
Vice-President for Research Professor Lokesh Joshi
Vice-President for the Student Experience     Dr Pat Morgan
Vice- President for Equality and Diversity   Professor Anne Scott

Latest news

Read the latest news about the University.

Quick facts

The Quadrangle at NUI Galway

NUI Galway Has Over:

  • 18,000 students.
  • 3,000 international students from 115 countries.
  • 2,500 staff members.
  • 120 links with universities across the globe.
  • 90,000 alumni in 107 countries.
  • 170 years experience providing university education.

NUI Galway Is:

  • Irelands's top University for graduate employability with 96% of our graduates employed or in further study within six months of graduating.
  • The largest and oldest university in the west of Ireland.

NUI Galway is world leading for research in:

  • Biomedical Science and Engineering
  • Web Science
  • Human Rights
  • Marine Science, Energy and Environmental Science
  • Applied Social Sciences and Public Policy
    Humanities, in particular literature, Theatre and Irish Studies