Academic Staff

Prof Lucy Byrnes
Personal Professor

Embryonic development in zebrafish

lucy.byrnes@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2416

direct line 353-91-492416

Dr Michael Carty
Senior Lecturer, Head of Biochemistry

Responses to DNA damage in human cells

michael.carty@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 3695
direct line 353-91-493695

Dr Peter Creighton 
Lecturer

peter.creighton@nuigalway.ie
Ext:3654
direct line 353-91-493654

Dr Elaine Dunleavy
Welcome Trust Fellow & Honorary Lecturer

Centromere regulation in meiosis

elaine.dunleavy@nuigalway.ie
Ext:4046
direct line 353-91-494046

Dr Andrew Flaus
Lecturer

How nucleosome structure enables chromatin function.
Using technology to enhance teaching.

andrew.flaus@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 5482
direct line 353-91-495482

Dr Adrienne Gorman
Lecturer

Mechanisms of cell death and survival

adrienne.gorman@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2417
direct line 353-91-492417

Dr Muriel Grenon
Lecturer (Fixed -term) 
Science Outreach and Public Engagement

muriel.grenon@nuigalway.ie
Ext:5848
direct line 353-91-495848

Prof  Bob Lahue
Professor

Trinucleotide repeat instability and mutagenesis

bob.lahue@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 5756
direct line 353-91-495756

Prof Noel Lowndes
Established Professor
Eukaryotic DNA damage responses

noel.lowndes@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2415
direct line 353-91-492415

Prof Brian McStay
Professor
Gene expression and nuclear structure

brian.mcstay@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2423
direct line 353-91-492423

Dr Derek Morris
Lecturer in Biomedical Science, Biochemistry
Human Genetic variation and risk of disease

derek.morris@nuigalway.ie
Ext:4439
direct line 353- 91-494439

Prof Ciaran Morrison
Professor

DNA damage and the cell cycle

ciaran.morrison@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2056
direct line 353-91-492056

Prof  Heinz Peter Nasheuer
Professor
Control of DNA replication in the eukaryotic cell cycle

heinz.nasheuer@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2430
direct line 353-91-492430

Dr Lynn O'Connor
Lecturer
Molecular control of Adipogenesis

lynn.oconnor@nuigalway.ie  
Ext:3637

direct line 353-91-49637

Dr Stephen Rea
Lecturer
Epigenetic regulation of gene expression

stephen.rea@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 5750
direct line 353-91-495750

Prof Afshin Samali
Professor

Cellular stress and apoptosis

afshin.samali@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2440
direct line 353-91-492440

Prof Kevin Sullivan
Professor

Centromere biology

kevin.sullivan@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2434
direct line 353-91-492434

Dr  Eva Szegezdi 
 Research Lecturer in Cancer Biology 
Cell death and apoptosis

eva.szegezdi@nuigalway.ie
Ext:5037
direct line 353-91-495037

Dr Maria Tuohy
Lecturer

Fungal glycoproteins- glycosyl hydrolases, oxidoreductases and proteases

maria.tuohy@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2439
direct line 353-91-492439

Researchers

Staff Profiles Name

Contact Information

 Dr Anna Dattoli
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

 anna.adadtolli@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

Dr Suraya Diaz
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

 suraya.diaz@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences 

Dr Claudia Fracchiolli
Postdoctoral Researcher
Cell Explorer

claudia.fracchiolli@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 495003
Ext: 5003
Location Rm 205, Biochemistry, Arts Sciences.

 Dr Sandra Healy
Programme Manager
Apoptosis Research Centre

sandra.healy@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 495890
Ext: 5890
Location BMS-GO22, Biomedical Sciences

  Lucretia Kwenda
Research Assistant
Centre for Chromosome Biology

 LUCRETIA.KWENDA@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

  Dr Elaine Lahue
Senior Research Fellow
Apoptosis Research Centre

  elaine.lahue@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5758
Ext: 5758
Location BMS-G031, Biomedical Sciences

   Dr  Susan Logue
SFI Starting Investigator
Apoptosis Research Centre

 susan.logue@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5890
Ext: 5890
Location BMS-G022, Biomedical Sciences

Tatiana Lobonova
Research Assistant
Apoptosis Research Centre

tatiana.lobonova@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5890
Ext: 5890
Location BMS-G022, Biomedical Sciences

Dr Hazel Mangan
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

 hazel.mangan@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

Dr Katarzyna Mnich
Postdoctoral Researcher
Apoptosis Research Centre

   katarzyna.mnich@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5890
Ext: 5890
Location BMS-G022, Biomedical Sciences

Dr Delphine Ohyona
Postdoctoral Researcher
Apoptosis Research Centre

delphine.ohayon@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5890
Ext: 5890
Location BMS-G022, Biomedical Sciences

Dr Indu Patwal
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

indu.patwal@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

 Aisling Quinlan
Research Assistant
Centre for Chromosome Biology

 aisling.quinlan @nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

Dr  Naoyuki Sarai
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

naoyuki.sarai@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

 Dr Nikolay Tsanov
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

 nikolay.tsanov@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

 Dr  Amandine Van Beneden
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

 amandine.vanbeneden@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

 Dr Marjolein Van Sluis
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

 marjolein.vansluis@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

Dr Sinead Walsh
Operations Manager
Apoptosis Research Centre

sinead.s.walsh@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 2925
Ext:5890
Location: BMS-G030, Biomedical Sciences

Dr Gregory Williams
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre for Chromosome Biology

gregory.williams@nuigalway.ie
Direct Line 091 49 5950
Ext: 5950
Location BMS-G018, Biomedical Sciences

Adjunct Staff

Dr Andrew McCarthy
EMBL Grenoble Outstation
71, avenue des Martyrs
CS 90181
38042 Grenoble Cedex 9
France

Tel: +33 4 76 20 7276
Email: andrewmc@embl.fr

Dr  Irena Dornreiter
Heinrich-Pette-Institut
Leibniz-Institut für Experimentelle Virologie (HPI)
Martinistrasse 52
D-20251
Hamburg
Germany 

Tel: +49 40 679 2731
Email: irena.dornreiter@comcast.net

Technical Staff

Bernadette Ashe
Senior Technical Officer

Ext: 2059; direct line 353-91-492059
Email:  bernadette.ashe@nuigalway.ie  

Dr Maria Barrett
Senior Technical Officer
Email: maria.barrett@nuigalway.ie

Michael Burke
Laboratory Attendant 
 
Email: michael.burke@nuigalway.ie

Dr Mark Harvey
Senior Technical Officer
Ext:2925: direct line 353-91-492925 
Email: mark.harvey@nuigalway.ie

Oilibhéar Ó Niaidh
Príomhoifigeach Teicniúil
Ext: 2421; direct line 353-91-492421
Email: oilibhear.omiaidh@nuigalway.ie

Anne O'Rorke 
Senior Technical Officer
 
Ext: 2737; direct line 353-91-492737
Email:  anne.ororke@nuigalway.ie  

John Rushe
Laboratory Attendant

Ext: 2448; direct line 353-91-492448
Email: john.rushe@nuigalway.ie

Dr Muriel Voisin 
Senior Technical Officer 
Ext: 4403; directline 353-91-494403
Email: muriel.voisin@nuigalway.ie

PJ Walsh  
 Senior Technical Officer  (Part-time)
Ext: 2424; directline 353-91-492424
Email: pj.walsh@nuigalway.ie

Dr Martina Wernecke 
Senior Technical Officer 
Ext: 4447; directline 353-91-49447 
Email: martina.wernecke@nuigalway.ie

Administrative Staff

Angela Trayers-Lynagh  
Biotechnology Administrator
(Thursday & Friday mornings)
Ext: 3778; direct line 353-91-493778
Email:  angela.trayerslynagh@nuigalway.ie

Ashla Ward  
Biochemistry Administrator
 
Ext: 2420; direct line 353-91-492420
Email: ashla.ward@nuigalway.ie