Applications to join our group are welcome from outstanding and enthusiastic candidates. Undergraduate research projects, summer placements, short research visits, PhD studentships or postdoctoral research are welcome to apply all year round. We will be happy to support applications for external funding.

To apply, please email Dr. Farràs directly with a CV, a cover letter and the names and addresses of two referees. 

Group Members

 

Name

Position

 

Contact

Research

Pau photo_2 Dr Pau Farràs Principal Investigator   +353 91492765
pau.farras@nuigalway.ie
Molecular and materials design for Chemistry with Light
  Wenming Tong Postdoctoral Researcher   wenming.tong@nuigalway.ie New materials for water electrolysers
  Aoife Howard Postdoctoral Researcher     Socio-economic analysis SEAFUEL
Patrick Kielty PhD student   p.kielty2@nuigalway.ie Light-activated NO delivery
 S Hennessey photo Seán Hennessey PhD student   s.hennessey1@nuigalway.ie Photoactive porous frameworks
A Abdo photo Amir Abdo PhD student   a.abdo2@nuigalway.ie Hemin derivatives as NO scavengers
 N Murphy photo Neville Murphy PhD student    n.murphy30@nuigalway.ie Metallacarboranes in biomedicine
  Amy Grier MSc student    a.grier2@nuigalway.ie Bodipy-metallacarborane dyads as light harvesting systems
  Mahtab Mahtabi Research Assistant     Water oxidation catalysts
  Josephine Sweeney BSc student     New ligands for photoactive porous materials
  Claire Kelly BSc student     Growth of gold nanoparticles from Ag and Cu clusters
  Hanka Besic BSc student     Study of growth effects in silver nanoparticles

November 2018 Group Photo

November 2018 Group Photo

L‌eft to right: Neville Murphy, Jo Sweeney, Patrick Kielty, Claire Kelly, Amir Abdo, Dr. Pau Farràs, Dr. Simon Tong, Dr. Mahtab Mahtabi, Seán Hennessey and Amy Grier