Applications to join our group are welcome from outstanding and enthusiastic candidates. Undergraduate research projects, summer placements, short research visits, PhD studentships or postdoctoral research are welcome to apply all year round. We will be happy to support applications for external funding.

To apply, please email Dr. Farràs directly with a CV, a cover letter and the names and addresses of two referees. 

Group Members







Pau photo_2 Dr Pau Farràs Principal Investigator   +353 91492765
Molecular and materials design for Chemistry with Light
  Wenming Tong Postdoctoral Researcher New materials for water electrolysers
  Aoife Howard Postdoctoral Researcher     Socio-economic analysis SEAFUEL
Patrick Kielty PhD Student Light-activated NO delivery
 S Hennessey photo Seán Hennessey PhD Student Photoactive porous frameworks and ruthenium dyads for photooxidation of organic substrates
A Abdo photo Amir Abdo PhD Student Hemin derivatives as NO scavengers
  Neville Murphy PhD Student Metallacarboranes in biomedicine
  Amy Grier MSc Student Bodipy-metallacarborane dyads as light harvesting systems
  Mahtab Mahtabi Research Assistant     Water oxidation catalysts
  Camille Le Houérou MSc Summer Student     New ruthenium based ligands for photoactive porous materials
  Louise Bazus BSc Summer Student     Metallacarboranes in biomedicine
  Yuheng Zhou BSc Summer Student     New ligands for photoactive frameworks
  Hanka Besic BSc Summer Student     Study of growth effects in silver nanoparticles

May 2019 Group Photo

Group Photo May 2019

Back row:  Dr. Aoife Howard, Amir Abdo, Dr. Simon Tong, Dr. Pau Farràs, Patrick Kielty, Dr Mahtab Mahtabi and Camille Le Houérou
Front row:  Seán Hennessey, Neville Murphy, Amy Grier, Hanka Besic, Yuheng Zhou and Louise  Bazus