Staff

Please click on staff names for further information.

Dr Rebecca Anne Barr
Room 301, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495609 
rebecca.barr@nuigalway.ie

Literature of the 'long' eighteenth century; masculinity and literature; printing and print culture; the novel: contemporary poetry and visual culture.  

Dr Victoria Brownlee
Room 512, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493974
victoria.brownlee@nuigalway.ie

16th- and 17th-century English literature; religious and devotional writings; the early modern Bible and reformed exegesis, women’s devotional writings. 

Dr Dermot Burns
Room 506, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492630
dermot.burns@nuigalway.ie

Medieval literature, chivalric and Arthurian literature, medieval aesthetics and poetic art, Renaissance drama, English Romanticism, fiction of adolescence, monsters and heroes in fiction, service learning: literacy acquisition and learning styles.

Professor Daniel Carey
Room 504, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493083
daniel.carey@nuigalway.ie

Early modern travel writing; literature and colonialism; early modern literature and philosophy; John Locke; seventeenth-century literature and science; eighteenth-century fiction, esp. Defoe; the Enlightenment and postcolonial theory.

Dr Clíodhna Carney
Room 507, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492701
cliona.carney@nuigalway.ie

Chaucer, medieval poetics, gifts and exchange, Spenser's Faerie Queene

Professor Marie-Louise Coolahan 
[On Research Leave 2017-18]  
Room 503, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493787
marielouise.coolahan@nuigalway.ie

16th- and 17th-century English literature; Irish- and English-language women's writing in the early modern period; Renaissance manuscript culture.

Dr Sorcha Gunne
Room 304, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493786
sorcha.gunne@nuigalway.ie

Gender studies and transnational feminism, world-literature, postcolonial literature and theory, and contemporary literature.

Ms Aoife Harrington
Accounts Administrator (Friday mornings only)
Room 311, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 494334
aoife.harrington@nuigalway.ie

Dr John Kenny
Room 305, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495612
john.kenny@nuigalway.ie

Twentieth-century literature; contemporary Irish and world fiction; history of criticism, especially literary journalism and reviewing of all periods; the works of John Banville; Creative Writing and Practice.

Dr Frances McCormack
Room 307, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495348
frances.mccormack@nuigalway.ie

Old and Middle English Literature; in particular the works of Chaucer, religious and devotional literature, and heresy

Mr Mike McCormack

Room 306, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493410
mike.mccormack@nuigalway.ie

Creative Writing

Ms Dearbhla Mooney
Academic Administrator
Room 509, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493339
dearbhla.mooney@nuigalway.ie

Dr Andrew Ó Baoill
Room 513, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 494480
andrew.obaoill@nuigalway.ie

Journalism

Dr Muireann O'Cinneide
Room 501, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495388
muireann.ocinneide@nuigalway.ie

19th-century literature; research specialisms in women's writing, politics and literature, and colonial & post-Colonial writing, particularly travel writing.

Ms Irene O'Malley
Administrator
Room 511, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492567
internal:  2567
irene.omalley@nuigalway.ie


Ms Bernadette O'Sullivan
Room 336, Arts Millennium Building
tel.: 353 (0)91 492777
bernadette.osullivan@nuigalway.ie

Journalism

Dr Adrian Paterson
Room 502, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492568
adrian.paterson@nuigalway.ie

Modernism; fin de siècle and twentieth century literature; literature and the arts, especially music; orality, print, performance, technology, including radio broadcasting; the works of W.B.Yeats, Ezra Pound, James Joyce.

Dr Richard Pearson
[On Sabbatical Leave, Semester 1, 2017-18]
Room 308, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495613
richard.pearson@nuigalway.ie

Nineteenth-century literature; print culture and the literary marketplace in the nineteenth-century; archaeology and anthropology in fiction; the writings of W.M.Thackeray and Charles Dickens; William Morris and the arts and crafts movement; digital humanities.

Professor Lionel Pilkington
Room 514, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493078
lionel.pilkington@nuigalway.ie

Irish drama, theatre and Irish cultural history, postcolonialism and Irish studies, culture and politics in Northern Ireland..

Dr Lindsay Ann Reid
[On Sabbatical Leave, 2017-18]
Room 515, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492565
lindsay.reid@nuigalway.ie

Tudor and Jacobean Literature; Middle English Literature; Classical Mythology; Ovidianism; Adaptation, Intertextuality, and Reception Sudies; Periodisation; Book History and Early Print Culture

Dr Irina Ruppo-Malone
Room 506, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493129
irina.ruppo@nuigalway.ie

Special interests include Ibsen Studies, Irish Literary Revival (in particular the work of W.B. Yeats, J.M. Synge, and James Joyce), 20th Century Drama, 20th Century Irish Fiction, the Literature of the Fantastic, Literary and Dramatic Adaptation, and Academic Writing.

Professor Sean Ryder
Room 501, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493009
sean.ryder@nuigalway.ie

19th-century Irish culture; the works of Thomas Moore and James Clarence Mangan; digital humanities: critical editing; film studies

Dr Elizabeth Tilley
Head of Discipline
Room 508, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492581
elizabeth.tilley@nuigalway.ie

19th century Gothic literature and history of the novel; 19th century serials, Irish publishing history and periodical production; book history; links between art and literature 

Dr Justin Tonra 
Room 303, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492566
justin.tonra@nuigalway.ie

19th-Century Literature; Digital Humanities; Book History; Textual Studies; Bibliography; Scholarly Editing.

Additional Teaching Staff

Dr Fiona Bateman   fiona.bateman@nuigalway.ie
Mr Eoin Byrne (Centre for Irish Studies)
Dr Coralline Dupuy  coralline.dupuy@nuigalway.ie
Dr Nessa Cronin (Centre for Irish Studies) nessa.cronin@nuigalway.ie
Dr Sean Crosson (Huston Film School) sean.crosson@nuigalway.ie
Dr Conn Holohan (Huston Film School) conn.holohan@nuigalway.ie
Ms Mary McPartlan
Ms Kirry O'Brien
Mr Toner Quinn
Dr Kerry Sinanan
Dr Ann Torres (Marketing)   ann.torres@nuigalway.ie

Centre for Drama, Theatre & Performance

Prof. Patrick Lonergan   
Dr Miriam Haughton 
Ms Marianne Kennedy 
Dr Charlotte McIvor  
Dr Ian Walsh 

Retired Staff

Prof Kevin Barry
Dr Julia Carlson Kilroy
Prof Tadhg Foley
Prof Adrian Frazier
Dr Catherine LaFarge
Prof Hubert McDermott
Dr Riana O'Dwyer