Please click on staff names for further information.

Dr Rebecca Anne Barr
Room 301, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495609

Literature of the 'long' eighteenth century; masculinity and literature; printing and print culture; the novel: contemporary poetry and visual culture.  

Dr Dermot Burns
Room 512  Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493974

Medieval literature, chivalric and Arthurian literature, medieval aesthetics and poetic art, Renaissance drama, English Romanticism, fiction of adolescence, monsters and heroes in fiction, service learning: literacy acquisition and learning styles.

Professor Daniel Carey
Room 504, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493083

Early modern travel writing; literature and colonialism; early modern literature and philosophy; John Locke; seventeenth-century literature and science; eighteenth-century fiction, esp. Defoe; the Enlightenment and postcolonial theory.

Dr Clíodhna Carney
Room 507, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492701

Chaucer, medieval poetics, gifts and exchange, Spenser's Faerie Queene

Professor Marie-Louise Coolahan 
[On Research Leave 2018-19]  
Room 503, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493787

16th- and 17th-century English literature; Irish- and English-language women's writing in the early modern period; Renaissance manuscript culture.

Mr Tom Felle

Room 302, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492049

Print and digital journalism; data journalism and social media journalism

Ms Aoife Harrington
Accounts Administrator (Friday mornings only)
Room 311, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 494334

Dr John Kenny
Room 305, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495612

Twentieth-century literature; contemporary Irish and world fiction; history of criticism, especially literary journalism and reviewing of all periods; the works of John Banville; Creative Writing and Practice.

Dr Frances McCormack
Room 307, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495348

Old and Middle English Literature; in particular the works of Chaucer, religious and devotional literature, and heresy

Mr Mike McCormack

Room 306, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493410

Creative Writing

Ms Dearbhla Mooney 
Academic Administrator (Wednesday - Friday)
Room 509, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493339

Dr Andrew Ó Baoill
Room 513, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 494480


Dr Muireann O'Cinneide
Room 501, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495388

19th-century literature; research specialisms in women's writing, politics and literature, and colonial & post-Colonial writing, particularly travel writing.

Ms Irene O'Malley
Administrator (Monday - Thursday)
Room 511, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492567
internal:  2567

Ms Bernadette O'Sullivan
Room 336, Arts Millennium Building
tel.: 353 (0)91 492777


Dr Adrian Paterson
Room 502, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492568

Modernism; fin de siècle and twentieth century literature; literature and the arts, especially music; orality, print, performance, technology, including radio broadcasting; the works of W.B.Yeats, Ezra Pound, James Joyce.

Dr Richard Pearson
Room 308, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495613

We are deeply sorry to announce the death of our colleague, Dr Richard Pearson, who passed away shortly after Christmas. Dr Pearson was a member of English at NUIG from 2008. Before coming to Galway Dr Pearson was Professor of Victorian Literature at Worcester University UK. While teaching at NUIG he continued to research and publish extensively on Victorian literature, especially in the fields of fiction and drama. His most recent monograph - he published four in total - was... 'W.M. Thackeray and the Mediated Text: Writing for Periodicals in the Mid-Nineteenth Century' and was published by Routledge in 2017. Energetic and devoted to his field of work, Dr Pearson also developed digital archives of the plays of Wilkie Collins and a database of Victorian plays: engaging in scholarship that enables the work of others. While at NUIG he inspired undergraduates and mentored many graduate researchers. We are grateful to have known him and proud to have worked alongside him. Students and friends wishing to remember him may make a donation to the Irish Donor Network: There will be a memorial service later in 2019.

Professor Lionel Pilkington
Room 514, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493078

Irish drama, theatre and Irish cultural history, postcolonialism and Irish studies, culture and politics in Northern Ireland..

Dr Lindsay Ann Reid
Room 515, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492565

Tudor and Jacobean Literature; Middle English Literature; Classical Mythology; Ovidianism; Adaptation, Intertextuality, and Reception Sudies; Periodisation; Book History and Early Print Culture

Dr Irina Ruppo-Malone
Room 506, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493129

Special interests include Ibsen Studies, Irish Literary Revival (in particular the work of W.B. Yeats, J.M. Synge, and James Joyce), 20th Century Drama, 20th Century Irish Fiction, the Literature of the Fantastic, Literary and Dramatic Adaptation, and Academic Writing.

Professor Sean Ryder
Head of Discipline
Room 501, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493009

19th-century Irish culture; the works of Thomas Moore and James Clarence Mangan; digital humanities: critical editing; film studies

Dr Elizabeth Tilley
[On sabbatical 2018-19]
Room 508, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492581

19th century Gothic literature and history of the novel; 19th century serials, Irish publishing history and periodical production; book history; links between art and literature 

Dr Justin Tonra 
Room 303, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492566

19th-Century Literature; Digital Humanities; Book History; Textual Studies; Bibliography; Scholarly Editing.

Additional Teaching Staff

Dr Fiona Bateman   
Mr Eoin Byrne (Centre for Irish Studies)
Mr Ryan Dennis
Mr Danny Denton (Creative Writing)
Dr Coralline Dupuy  
Dr Nessa Cronin (Centre for Irish Studies)
Dr Sean Crosson (Huston Film School)
Dr Conn Holohan (Huston Film School)
Dr Libby Jones
Mr Tim Keane
Mr Martin Keaveney 
Mr Edward Kearns
Dr Padraic Killeen (Digital Humanities)
Dr Georganne Nordstrom
Dr Ellen McCabe
Ms Lisa McInerney (Creative Writing)
Ms Mary McPartlan
Ms Kirry O'Brien
Mr Toner Quinn
Ms Anna Sikora
Mr John Singleton
Dr Ann Torres (Marketing)   

Teaching Staff from the O'Donoghue Centre for Drama, Theatre & Performance

Prof. Patrick Lonergan   
Dr Miriam Haughton 
Ms Marianne Kennedy 
Dr Charlotte McIvor  
Dr Ian Walsh 

Retired Staff

Prof Kevin Barry
Dr Julia Carlson Kilroy
Prof Tadhg Foley
Prof Adrian Frazier
Dr Catherine LaFarge
Prof Hubert McDermott
Dr Riana O'Dwyer