Our Academic Support Tutorials designed to assist First Year students of Spanish with their study of the language and the cultures of Spain and Latin America. They are called ’SPANISH FIRST’ Tutorials. ’FIRST’ stands for ’Forum for Investigating and Researching Spanish Themes’.

The SPANISH FIRST Tutorials are a way for First Year students to begin to explore the vast array of possible topics associated with the study of Spanish. They are also a means for First Year students to get advice and tips on learning the Spanish language, or on learning about anything to do with Spain or Latin America: culture, literature, history, current affairs, economics, cinema, geography, etc. – even including celebrity gossip!

The SPANISH FIRST Tutorials are conducted in English by Spanish lecturers in their role as Academic Support Tutors. All First Year students of Spanish have been assigned an Academic Support Tutor for this purpose.

Language Group

Academic Support Tutor

Room

Email

SH112/113 Lang A

Prof Bill Richardson

AM308

bill.richardso@nnuigalway.ie

SH112/113 Lang B

Dr Lorraine Kelly

AM338

lorraine.kelly@nuigalway.ie

SH112/113 Lang C

Dr Lorna Shaughnessy

AM304

lorna.shaughnessy@nuigalway.ie

SH112/113 Lang D

Dr Mel Boland

AM316

mel.boland@nuigalway.ie

SH112/113 Lang E

Dr Kate Quinn

AM332

kate.quinn@nuigalway.ie

SH131/132 Lang A

Ms Pilar Alderete

AM342

pilar.alderete@nuigalway.ie

SH131/132 Lang B

Ms Pilar Alderete

AM342

pilar.alderete@nuigalway.ie

SH102 Comm/Law

Ms Begoña Sangrador-Vegas

AM317

begona.sangrador-vegas@nuigalway.ie

SH140 Comm/Law

Prof Bill Richardson

AM308

bill.richardson@nuigalway.ie

 

Each First Year student of Spanish must attend at least one SPANISH FIRST Tutorial in the course of the academic year.

Students are encouraged to attend more than one Tutorial, and to maintain contact with their Academic Support Tutor on an ongoing basis.

This is especially important if students have any difficulties in learning Spanish or have an interest in learning more about particular Spanish or Latin American topics or areas of study.

Students should feel free to contact their Academic Support Tutor at any time.

Either way, the Tutor will contact the student in due course and give him {{MISSING CONTENT}}