Medicine

College of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Sciences,
School of Medicine

Course overview

The Discipline offers supervision in a wide area of medical interest. To pursue a Structured PhD degree, potential candidates should discuss the matter with the Head of Discipline.

Programmes available

PhD (Medicine), part-time
MD (Medicine), full-time
MD (Medicine), part-time

Entry requirements

PhD candidates should normally have a high honours standard in a relevant academic discipline at primary degree level or equivalent together with the support of an academic staff member who is approved by the College to supervise the research in terms of its nature and scope.

MD candidates should normally have a high honours standard in Medicine from NUI Galway or possess qualification deemed by the Senate of the University to be equivalent. Candidates shall be eligible to register onto the MD programme, three years after obtaining the Degree of Bachelor of Medicine. The application will also require support of an academic staff member who is approved by the College to supervise the research in terms of its nature and scope.

Additional entry requirements
Candidates may be required to submit a research proposal for consideration by the School as part of their application.

Areas of interest

  • Aetiology & pathogenesis
  • Developmental therapeutics
  • Regenerative medicine
  • Clinical trials
  • Health services research
  • Diabetes & Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Respiratory
  • Cardiology
  • Neurology
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Dermatology
  • Haematology
  • Medical Oncology
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Palliative Care
  • I nfectious Diseases
  • Rheumatology
  • Nephrology

Researcher profiles


Prof. Timothy O'Brien
Head of Discipline of Medicine / Director of REMEDI
timothy.obrien@nuigalway.ie

 

Prof. Kieran Daly
kieran.daly@hse.ie
Cardiology


Prof. Eamon Mulkerrin / Dr. Shaun O'Keeffe 
eamon.mulkerrin@hse.ie/ s.okeeffe@hse.ie  
Geriatrics

 

Dr. John Lee
John.lee@hse.ie
Gastroenterology / Hepatology

 

Dr. Timothy Counihan / Dr. Michael Hennessy
Timothy.counihan@hse.ie / Michael.hennessy@hse.ie 
Neurology

 

Dr. Pauline Marren / Dr. Trevor Markham / Dr. Lesley Anne Murphy
Pauline.marren@hse.ie/ Trevor.markham@hse.ieLesleyA.murphy@hse.ie 
Dermatology

 

Prof. M. O'Dwyer
Michael.odwyer@hse.ie
Haematology

 

Dr. Maccon Keane / Dr. Paul Donnellan
Maccon.keane@hse.ie/ paul.donnelln@hse.ie
Medical Oncology

 

Prof. Frank Sullivan
Frank.sullivan@hse.ie
Radiation Oncology

 

Dr. Dympna Waldron
Dympna.waldron@hse.ie
Palliative Care

 

Dr. Catherine Fleming
Catherine.fleming@hse.ie
Infectious Diseases

 

Prof. JJ Gilmartin / Dr. Anthony O'Regan
jj.gilmartin@hse.ie/ anthony.oregan@hse.ie
Respiratory Medicine

 

Dr. David Lappin / Dr. Donal Reddan
david.lappin@hse.ie/ donal.reddan@hse.ie
Nephrology

 

Dr. Robert Coughlan / Dr. John Carey
bobbycoughlan@yahoo.ie/ john.carey@hse.ie
Rheumatology

PAC code

PhD (part-time) GYN20
MD (full-time) GYN21
MD (part-time) GYN22

Fees for this course

EU: €4,529 (PhD); €5,345 (MD)

Non-EU: €13,750

Current Students

Current student name

Current student details/course

"...Course student quote..."

Downloads