Information Technology

College of Engineering & Informatics,
School of Engineering and Informatics

Course overview

Information Technology offers MSc and PhD degrees comprising an extended period of research and the submission of a dissertation. Admission to a research degree is at the discretion of the potential supervisor (a member of academic staff) and the Head of Discipline. Applicants should have an honours primary degree in computing/IT or related areas. Applications for MSc and PhD by research can be made at any time, but registration follows the normal academic year cycle. Most of the department's research candidates are supported by fellowship schemes or externally funded research programmes.

Programmes available

PhD (Information Technology), full-time
PhD (Information Technology), part-time 
MSc (Computer Science & Information Technology), full-time [formerly MSc (Applied Computing & I.T.)]
MSc (Computer Science & Information Technology), part-time [formerly MSc (Applied Computing & I.T.)]
MSc Teicneolaíocht Faisnéise (Information Technology), full-time
MSc Teicneolaíocht Faisnéise (Information Technology), part-time

Areas of interest

Ms. Pat Byrne
pat.byrne@nuigalway.ie
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Socio-economic impacts of ICT; ICT in education.

Dr. Des Chambers
des.chambers@nuigalway.ie
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Distributed systems; Medical informatics; Intelligent medical devices.

Dr. Jim Duggan
jim.duggan@nuigalway.ie
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Enterprise computing; System dynamics and operations research; Multi-agent systems.

Ms. Josephine Griffith
josephine.griffith@nuigalway.ie
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Collaborative filtering; Information retrieval; Web-based education.

Prof. Gerard Lyons
gerard.lyons@nuigalway.ie 
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Enterprise computing; Multi-agent systems and intelligent devices; Process modeling enterprise integration.

Dr. Michael Madden
michael.madden@nuigalway.ie 
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Machine learning; Data mining; Artificial intelligence.

Mr. Hugh Melvin
hugh.melvin@nuigalway.ie 
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Internet multimedia services; Quality of service in networks and comms; Synchronised time services.

Dr. Owen Molloy
owen.molloy@nuigalway.ie 
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Enterprise computing; Intelligent enterprise integration; Business Performance Management.

Dr. Owen Molloy
owen.molloy@nuigalway.ie 
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Enterprise computing; Intelligent enterprise integration; Business Performance Management.

Dr. Colm O’Riordan
colm.oriordan@nuigalway.ie 
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Information Retrieval, Game Theory, Random graph generation.

 

Researcher profiles

Contact Us

Dr. Jim Duggan
T
+353 91 493 836
E jim.duggan@nuigalway.ie
www.it.nuigalway.ie/

PAC code

PhD (full-time) GYF32
PhD (part-time) GYF33
MSc (full-time) GYF34
MSc (part-time) GYF35
MSc (full-time) GYF36
MSc (part-time) GYF37

Fees for this course

EU: €5,750 p.a. 2018/19

Non-EU: €14,750 p.a. 2018/19

EU Part time:  Year 1 [2018/19] €3,910. p.a.

How to Apply