[All events]
[Brown bag seminar series] [Economics seminar series] [Conferences, workshops, other]
[Recent] [Archive]


Archive: 2008



Friday 28th November 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Insights from organizational economics

Scott R. Steele Berea College, Kentucky

Details


Friday 21st November 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
The economics of mental health care in Ireland: costs and preferences

Brendan Kennelly Economics, NUI Galway

Friday 14th November 2008
2.00 PM CA111 Lecture Hall 1, Cairnes
Economics seminar
Blowing bubbles—and bursting them: Ireland and Spain

John FitzGerald ESRI

Details


Friday 7th November 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
The effect of schooling on teenage childbearing: evidence using changes in the compulsory education laws

Mary Silles Economics, NUI Galway

Details


Friday 31st October 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Bertrand-Edgeworth games under oligopoly with complete characterization for the triopoly

Neri Salvadori University of Pisa

Details


Friday 24th October 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Incomplete markets, Knightian uncertainty, and irreversible investment

Jacco Thijssen TCD

Details


Friday 17th October 2008
1.00 PM Siobhan McKenna Theatre
Economics seminar
Socio-economic inequalities in suicide: evidence and challenges for prevention

Steve Platt University of Edinburgh

Friday 10th October 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Politician preferences, law-abiding lobbyists and caps on political lobbying

Ivan Pastine UCD

Details


Friday 3rd October 2008
9.00 AM Lecture Hall 1
Conference
The Irish Society of New Economists Annual Conference



Friday 26th September 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
A model of algorithmic trading in an artificial stock market

Daniel Paraschiv, Srinivas Raghavendra Economics, NUI Galway

Details


Friday 19th September 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Socioeconomic differences in suicide risk among adult persons between 18 to 65 years old in Denmark: a population-based longitudinal study

Antonio Rodriquez Universidad de Castilla La Mancha

Monday 15th September 2008
4.00 PM AC214 Arts/Sciences Concourse
Economics seminar
Monetary Union and Financial Integration in Europe

Philip R. Lane TCD

Friday 12th September 2008
2.00 PM CA111 Lecture Hall 1, Cairnes
Economics seminar
Remittances—impact on a small open economy

Dennis Jansen Visiting professor NUI Galway, and University of Texas A & M

Friday 11th April 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Selection systems for skilled immigrants

John McHale Queen's University, Canada

Wednesday 9th April 2008
12.00 PM SAC Room
Economics seminar
Asymmetry and order effects in willingness to pay estimates from multi-attribute stated preference data

Ricardo Scarpa University of Waikato

Friday 4th April 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Is there scientific progress in macroeconomics? The case of the NAIRU

Dany Lang Economics, NUI Galway

Friday 14th March 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Health technology assessment developments in the UK—lessons to learn

Rod Taylor Peninsula Medical School, Universities of Exeter & Plymouth

Friday 29th February 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Hedge fund performance: a robust test

Liam Gallagher DCU

Friday 15th February 2008
10.00 AM SAC Room
Economics seminar
From efficacy to cost-effectiveness: the impact of patient compliance

Dyfrig Hughes Centre for Economics and Policy in Health, Bangor University

Details


Friday 8th February 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Are Ireland's immigrants integrating into its labour market?

Alan Barrett ESRI

Friday 1st February 2008
2.00 PM Lecture Hall 1
Economics seminar
Cost-effectiveness of first-generation versus second-generation antipsychotic drugs in schizophrenia

Linda Davies University of Manchester

Head of Economics

Prof Alan Ahearne

Contact Economics

t:+353 91 492501/492177

e: economics@nuigalway.ie