Sept 3rd – Sept 5th, 2013. Location: Seminar Room 2052, Engineering Building, NUI Galway.

Click on this link for the programme of the Summer School.

Photos from the 2013 BMERM Summer School at NUI Galway

The 2013 BMERM summer school took place in NUI Galway and was a 3-day event of industry, clinical and research seminars, with the following themes:

Industry Day: invited speakers from MedTech industry - translation of research to commercial products.

Clinical Day: key opinion leader clinician presentations, BMERM student presentations

Technology Day: internationally renowned researcher presentations

An impressive line-up of speakers presented at the event including:

  • Prof. Robert Puers, KU Leuven, Belgium (implantable microsensors)
  • Prof. Glen Niebur, University of Notre Dame, USA (orthopaedic cell mechanobiology and biomechanics)
  • Dr. Sinead Keogh, IMDA
  • Dr. John Gleeson, Surgacoll Ltd., Dublin and Cork (biomaterials for cartilage and bone repair)
  • Dr. Colin Telfer, Aerogen Ltd., Galway (respiratory drug delivery systems)
  • Dr. Jacinta Thornton, Technology Transfer Office, NUI Galway 
  • Mr. Brendan Casey, Neuravi, Galway (Medical device development for treating ischaemic stroke)
  • Mr. Derek Bennett, consultant orthopaedic surgeon, Galway Clinic
  • Prof. Tim O' Brien, Professor of Medicine, University Hospital Galway and NUIG
  • Prof. Michael Kerin, Professor of Surgery, University Hospital Galway and NUIG
  • Mr. Sherif Sultan, consultant vascular surgeon, Galway Clinic.


The Summer School presentations will take place in Seminar Room 2052, on the second floor of the Engineering Building.

Registration, tea breaks etc will take place in the break-out space directly adjacent to Room 2052.

If you are visiting the University and are travelling by car, we recommend that you park in the Pay and Display spaces in the Dangan car park. You can then take the shuttle bus which stops directly in front of the Engineering Building. Parking permits have been sent to all attendees.

BMERM is funded under the Programme for Research in Third-Level Institutions (PRTLI) Cycle 5 and co-funded under the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).