Sunday, 18 September 2016

Congratulations to Jack O’Meara who has just been announced as the Irish Regional Winner in The Undergraduate Awards 2016. The award was based on the work Jack carried out as part of his 4th year project in 2014/2015 and ranked him as the best Irish student in the category of Engineering and the Built Environment. The Undergraduate Awards is the world’s largest academic awards programme, identifying leading creative thinkers through their undergraduate coursework across all disciplines. Jack’s 4th year project developed both functionalised and non-functionalised poly (lactic-co-glycolic) acid (PLGA) scaffolds for the purpose of tendon repair. The project was supervised by Dr. Dimitrios Zeugolis. Jack will receive his award at the Undergraduate Awards Global Summit 2016, which takes place in Dublin in November.

Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Professor Peter McHugh was elected Science Secretary of the Royal Irish Academy at the Stated General Meeting of the RIA recently. The Royal Irish Academy is Ireland’s leading body of experts in the sciences and humanities. Founded in 1785 The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann is a publicly funded institution established for the promotion of Irish academic research. Professor Peter McHugh holds a BE in Mechanical Engineering from UCG (1987), and an MSc (1990) and PhD (1992) in Mechanics of Solids from Brown University, Providence, USA. He joined NUI Galway in 1991, where he is currently Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Head of Discipline of Biomedical Engineering, within the College of Engineering and Informatics. His research is focused on fundamental developments and applications of computational and experimental methods in biomechanics, tissue mechanics and medical implants and devices. He has taken a leadership role in the development of biomedical engineering in Ireland through high quality and prolific research and publication output, and undergraduate and graduate education programme generation. He has received numerous awards, including membership of the Royal Irish Academy (2011), the Silver Medal of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland (Section of Bioengineering) in 2011, the Presidential Nominee Fellowship of Engineers Ireland in (2009), and the Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship (1995).