The Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005 requires that the University consult with its employees on safety, health and welfare at work issues, and one means of safety consultation is through Safety Representatives. 

Safety Representatives are staff who have been elected by their co-workers to represent them on health and safety matters.  Safety consultation is their primary role and their rights are set out in Section 25 of the Act. Within NUI Galway 7 Safety Representative areas have been identified and employees in each area elect a fellow employee to represent them on workplace safety issues.

Area 1:The Engineering Building, Cairnes Building (*Shannon CHM), Áras Moyola, Research & Innovation Centre, Business Innovation Centre.
Contact: Jim Lenaghan, School of Education. Ext: 2759
Area 2: Clinical Science Institute, Lambe Institute, Anatomy, Block G, Geata an Eolais.
Contact: Mark Webber, Pathology. Ext: 87-4373
Area 3: Arts Science (NW), IT Building, Arts Millennium Building, Distillery Road Buildings, Sports Centre.
Contact: Tim Murphy, Information Solutions & Services. Ext: 5947
Area 4: Quadrangle, James Hardiman Library, Áras na Gaeilge (An Cheathru Rua, srl), Block C, Hardiman Building, Block D (Education). Block S, University Lodge.
Contact: tbc              Ext: tbc
Email tbc
Area 5: Arts Science (SE), Orbsen Building.
Contact: Silke Kleefeld, Bioresources Unit.  Ext: 3784                     
Contact:   Alessandra Costanzo, School of Natural Sciences.  Ext: 2129
Area 6: Ryan Institute (*RI Carna), Áras na MacLeinn, Áras Ui Chathail, Block E, Earls Island, Nuns Island.
Contact: Colm Moriarty, MRI Institute. Ext: 3239
Area 7: Biomedical Sciences Building, LifeCycle Building, INSIGHT, Dangan Sports Facilities.
Contact: Muriel Voisin, Biochemistry. Ext: 4403