The Ryan Institute is NUI Galway's largest research institute comprised of 89 Inter-Disciplinary Research Groups and 12 Research Centres/Clusters drawn from all Colleges across NUI Galway.

The 89 Ryan Institute research groups are responsible for approx. 20% of the overall research income of NUI Galway.

To enable research excellence and impact, the Ryan Institute core operations and technical staff provide a wide range of dedicated research-related supports to the Ryan Institute’s Research Groups and Research Centres/Clusters that comprise the Ryan Institute.

The Ryan Institute research support includes research admin support for over 500 active research grants, support for preparation of research grants and funding bids, supporting the functioning of the Research Centres/Clusters and the organisation of events and communication activities.

The Ryan Institute’s 89 Research Groups span all five Colleges and are located across multiple locations across the NUI Galway campus, including the Martin Ryan Building, the Orbsen Building, Aras de Brun, the Engineering Building, the Science Concourse and Aras Loyola, amongst others. The Ryan Institute;s core admin and technical staff are located in the Martin Ryan Building and the Orbsen Building.

The Ryan Institute has a number of dedicated core research facilities that is it responsible for or supporting, including: (1) GeoSpatial Analytics Facility; (2) Chemical Monitoring Facility; (3) Carna Aquaculture Research Station; (4) Carron & Finnavara Ecological Field Stations; and (5) Mace Head Climate Facility.


                           YouTube icon 50px                  Ryan Institute logo