Staff

Head of Earth & Ocean Sciences

Dr Tiernan Henry   tiernan.henry@nuigalway.ie

Discipline Administrator  
Lorna Larkin   lorna.larkin@nuigalway.ie

Technical Staff

Dr. Alessandra Costanzo

Senior Technical Officer

Ext.      2127/5097 
Email:  alessandra.costanzonuigalway.ie

Shane Rooney

Chief Technicial Officer

Ext: 2310 
Email: shane.rooneynuigalway.ie

Sheena Fennell

Senior Technicial Officer 

Ext: 2269

Email: sheena.fennellnuigalway.ie 

Any technical staff member may be reached directly by dialling the prefix 353-(0)91-49 before the extension number listed below.

DIRECT: 353(0)91- 492126

FAX: 353(0)91- 494533  

Academic Staff and Researchers

Staff Name Type Subject Area Phone

Postgraduate Students

Bebhinn Anders
Research Title: "Linking Sediment Source and Sediment Architecture in the North West Carboniferous Basin"
Email: b.anders1@nuigalway.ie 

Eoghan Daly
Research Title:  "Evaluating controls of acoustic noise propatation across the continental margin"
Email: e.daly12@nuigalway.ie 

Jessica Frankin
Research Title:  "Development of Novel Sediment Tracers: investigating the primary controls on reservoir sandstone quality"
Email:  j.franklin1@nuigalway.ie
 

Clynton Gregory
Research Title: " Groundwater nutrient discharges and bloom dinamics in semi-enclosed bays on the West Coast of Ireland"
Email:  c.gregory1@nuigalway.ie 

Catherine Jordan
Research Title:  "Spaced Based Observations of Marine Phytoplankton in NE Atlantic surface water masses"
Email: 
c.jordan4@nuigalway.ie

Sean Kelly
Research Title: "Marine and freshwater incluences on coastal lagoon hydrography and ecology"
Email: sean.kelly@marine.ie 

Ana Marquesmendes
Research Title: " Microplastics and metal contamination in the marine environment"
Email: a.marquesmendes1@nuigalway.ie 

Ellen McGrory
Research Title: "Analytical and biogeochemincal investigations of arsenic and other metals in Irish drinking water"
Email: e.mcgrory2@nuigalway.ie 

Monica Mullins
Research Title: "Application of CDOM optical properties for tracing natural and man-made surface slicks"
Email: monica.mullins@icrag-centre.org

 Martin Nauton
Research Title: "Sand delivery to passive margin basins-towards quantitative source to sink analysis"
Email: martin.nauton@icrag-centre.org

Aisling Scully
Research Title: " Crystallographic and Chemical Controls on Fracture Sealing in Geothermal Reservoirs"
Email: 
a.scully4@nuigalway.ie

Sean Wheeler
Research Title: "An investigation of metal occurance, sources and mobilisation processes in selected Irish Groundwaters associated with mines"
Email: 
s.wheeler1@nuigalway.ie

Alina Wieczorek
Research Title:  "Microplastic Pathways in Marine Pelagic systems"
Email: 
a.wieczorek1@nuigalway.ie

Adjunct Staff

Dr Robin Raine
robin.raine@nuigalway.ie 

Dr Peter Vine

Dr Evin McGovern
evin.mcgovern@marine.ie 
www.marine.ie