Happy 10th birthday to the Schools of Education & Mathematics' Joint BA Mathematics and Education programme

Apr 02 2019 Posted: 12:03 IST

Celebrating the 10th year of the programme and our 4BME final year class on the BA Mathematics and Education initial teacher education programme (CAO Code: GY109).  Initiated in 2008-09, it was the very first progrogramme of its kind in Ireland for students who wanted to become teachers of mathematics and applied mathematics.

The fourth year students on the BA Mathematics and Education (BME) programme on Tuesday last (2-4-2019), held their Symposium – a showcase of research and work in the area of mathematical education by the fourth year students.

The students were honoured to have past president of NUI Galway, Dr. Iognáid Ó Muircheartaigh deliver this year’s keynote address.  Dr. Ó Mhuircheartaigh, himself a graduate of pure mathematics from UCD and a PhD in statistics from Glasgow University – presented about his career and areas of research, namely descriptive statistics and inferential statistics.

Students presented their final year action research projects and reflections on their time over the four years.  Introduced in 2008, the BME graduates qualified second-level teachers of mathematics and applied mathematics, who are also fully qualified mathematicians.  The event brought together students from third and fourth year on the BME, academic staff from the School of Education, School of Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Statistics, as well as staff from GMIT Letterfrack.

This year’s Symposium also celebrated the 10 Year Anniversary for the programme and the students marked the occasion with quotes, photographs and a few words from past students and lecturers. 

Now to look forward to the next 10 years of the programme!

Iggy keynote

We were delighted to have our opening keynote from President Emeritus Prof. Iognáid (Iggy) Ó Muircheartaigh

4BME Group 2019 2

The BA Mathematics and Education Class of 2019, along with Prof. Gerry Mac Ruairc, President Emeritus Prof. Iognáid (Iggy) Ó Muircheartaigh, Drs Cornelia Connolly, Kirsten Pfeiffer and Tony Hall.

Jim Lenaghan

School of Education

Follow @edtechne


Featured Stories