Please click on staff names for further information.


Dr Dermot Burns
[On Sabbatical 2021-22]
Head of First-Year English

Room 512  Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493974

Medieval literature, chivalric and Arthurian literature, medieval aesthetics and poetic art, Renaissance drama, English Romanticism, fiction of adolescence, monsters and heroes in fiction, service learning: literacy acquisition and learning styles.

Professor Daniel Carey
Room 504, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493083

Early modern travel writing; literature and colonialism; early modern literature and philosophy; John Locke; seventeenth-century literature and science; eighteenth-century fiction, esp. Defoe; the Enlightenment and postcolonial theory.

Dr Clíodhna Carney
Director of Graduate Research
Room 507, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492701

Chaucer, medieval poetics, gifts and exchange, Spenser's Faerie Queene

Professor Marie-Louise Coolahan 
Head of First-Year English 2021-22
Room 503, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493787

16th- and 17th-century English literature; Irish- and English-language women's writing in the early modern period; Renaissance manuscript culture.

Mr Gavin Corbett
Writer in Residence 

Room 306, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493129

Novelist. Works include Innocence (Simon & Schuster, 2003), This Is the Way (Fourth Estate, 2013), and Green Glowing Skull (Fourth Estate, 2015).

Ms Aoife Harrington
[On Leave]
Accounts Administrator (Friday mornings only)
Room 311, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 494334

Dr Anne Karhio

Room 506, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 49XXX

Contemporary poetry, poetry and the media, digital literature, Irish writing, place and landscape, visual aesthetics, Nordic connections in Irish writing. 

Dr John Kenny
Room 305, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495612

Twentieth-century literature; contemporary Irish and world fiction; history of criticism, especially literary journalism and reviewing of all periods; the works of John Banville; Creative Writing and Practice.

Dr Padraic Killeen

Room 304, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493786

Digital Humanities

Dr Frances McCormack
Room 307, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495348

Old and Middle English Literature; in particular the works of Chaucer, religious and devotional literature, and heresy

Mr Mike McCormack

Room 306, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493410

Creative Writing

Ms Dearbhla Mooney 
Academic Administrator (Wednesday - Friday)
Room 509, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493339

Dr Andrew Ó Baoill
Room 513, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 494480
Political economy of the mass media, with a particular interest in the interplay of technological change, regulation and not-for-profit media

Ms Kirry O'Brien

Room 101, Riverside Terrapin, Distillery Rd
tel.: 353 (0)91 493847
World War One Poetry; World War One Prose; Poetry 1916; Renaissance Drama; Shakespearian Drama.

Dr Muireann O'Cinneide
Head of Second-Year English 2021-22
Room 501, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495388

19th-century literature; research specialisms in women's writing, politics and literature, and colonial & post-Colonial writing, particularly travel writing.

Professor David O'Shaughnessy

Room 2009, Moore Institute
tel.: 353 (0)91 493908

Eighteenth-century literature, especially theatre; Irish Enlightenment; London-Irish playwrights; theatre censorship; William Godwin; Oliver Goldsmith.

Ms Irene O'Malley
Discipline Administrative Assistant (Monday - Friday)

Room 511, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492567
internal:  2567

Dr Adrian Paterson
Head of Third-Year English 2021-22
Room 502, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492568

Modernism; fin de siècle and twentieth century literature; literature and the arts, especially music; orality, print, performance, technology, including radio broadcasting; the works of W.B.Yeats, Ezra Pound, James Joyce.

Professor Lionel Pilkington
Room 514, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493078

Irish drama, theatre and Irish cultural history, postcolonialism and Irish studies, culture and politics in Northern Ireland..

Dr Lindsay Ann Reid
Room 515, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492565

Tudor and Jacobean Literature; Middle English Literature; Classical Mythology; Ovidianism; Adaptation, Intertextuality, and Reception Sudies; Periodisation; Book History and Early Print Culture

Dr Emily Ridge
Head of First-Year English 2021-22
Room 301, Floor 1, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 495609

Modernist and mid-twentieth-century literature; modern women's writing; travel and portability; material culture; hospitality; ethics and politics of care and empathy; literature and emotion; biopolitics; archives and archival research. 

Dr Irina Ruppo-Malone
Room 506, Floor 3, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493129

Special interests include Ibsen Studies, Irish Literary Revival (in particular the work of W.B. Yeats, J.M. Synge, and James Joyce), 20th Century Drama, 20th Century Irish Fiction, the Literature of the Fantastic, Literary and Dramatic Adaptation, and Academic Writing.

Professor Sean Ryder
Head of School of English and the Creative Arts
Room 501, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 493009

19th-century Irish culture; the works of Thomas Moore and James Clarence Mangan; digital humanities: critical editing; film studies

Dr Elizabeth Tilley
Head of Discipline 
Room 508, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492581

19th century Gothic literature and history of the novel; 19th century serials, Irish publishing history and periodical production; book history; links between art and literature 

Dr Justin Tonra 
Room 303, Tower 1
tel.: 353 (0)91 492566

19th-Century Literature; Digital Humanities; Book History; Textual Studies; Bibliography; Scholarly Editing.

Additional Teaching Staff

Ms Emily Allen 
Dr Fiona Bateman   

Ms Aislaigh Cahillane
Dr Coralline Dupuy  
Dr Nessa Cronin (Centre for Irish Studies)
Dr Sean Crosson (Huston Film School)
Ms Tiana Fischer
Ms Ciara Glascott
Dr Conn Holohan (Huston Film School) 
Mr Christopher McCann
Ms Siobhan Morrissey
Mr Toner Quinn
Ms Elizabeth Quirke
Mr Francisco J. Rozano-Garcia
Mr Eoghan Ryan
Ms Emily Tock
Dr Ann Torres (Marketing)   

Teaching Staff from the O'Donoghue Centre for Drama, Theatre & Performance

Prof. Patrick Lonergan   
Dr Miriam Haughton 
Ms Marianne Kennedy 
Dr Charlotte McIvor  
Dr Ian Walsh 

Retired Staff

Prof Kevin Barry
Dr Julia Carlson Kilroy
Prof Tadhg Foley
Prof Adrian Frazier
Dr Catherine LaFarge
Prof Hubert McDermott
Dr Riana O'Dwyer