NUI Galway first formed an Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT) in 2015. This SAT submitted an unsuccessful application for an Athena SWAN Bronze Award in April 2015, in the first round of awards open to Irish institutions. The SAT received detailed feedback and recommendations from the Equality Challenge Unit that has since informed and helped shape further actions to strengthen the University’s commitment to embedding the key principles of the Athena SWAN Charter.

A new university-wide Athena SWAN self-assessment team (SAT) was established in September 2016 to prepare a resubmission for an institutional bronze award in April 2017. Expressions of interest were sought from staff and the SAT was selected against a number of criteria to ensure both a gender balance and a requirement for diversity and experience in terms of staff category, grade, working arrangements and leadership.

Athena SWAN Self assessment team NUI Galway

Current Members of the NUI Galway Institutional Self-Assessment Team

Miriam Byrne
Aoife Cooke
Catherine Emerson
Catherine Anne Field
Dermot Flaherty
John Gill
Victoria Hogan
Josephine Hynes
Adrienne Keane
Donal Leech
Niall Madden
Nicola McNicholas
Claire O'Connor
Pól Ó Dochartaigh
Nathan Quinlan
Shivaun Quinlivan
Ann Ryan
Anne Scott
Terry Smith
Clare Walsh
Chaosheng Zhang
Mary Dempsey


Culture Surveys

As part of the consultation process for the Athena SWAN submission in 2015, the SAT conducted a survey of all staff in March 2015 on workplace culture in NUI Galway. The purpose of this survey was to help the SAT understand how male and female staff members experience their working environment and identify what can be improved to ensure equality of opportunity. Overall, 964 staff members responded to the survey, representing 46% of total staff. The responses provided to the survey have and continue to inform actions and initiatives to eliminate gender bias and develop an inclusive culture that values all staff. Analysis of the open-ended qualitative data was completed in October 2015 and a report was produced: Report on Athena SWAN Culture Survey 2015

A new, broader workplace culture survey was again conducted in late 2018.  The survey responses are currently being analysed and the results will be communicated in 2019.