Our annual event is an opportunity for the research community at NUI Galway to come together to network and discuss future directions in research and innovation.  The event culminates with the presentation of the President's Awards for Research Excellence

Research and Innovation Symposium 2020 - 14 December, 10am

Click here to register for the event, https://nuigalway-ie.zoom.us/j/98166259268?pwd=UEMrM2NOeEJ3WWtyYVJqdk4zZFhnQT09


Research and Innovation Symposium 2019

The 2019 event took place on 17 October, with NUI Galway President, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh and Galway Vice-President for  Research, Professor Lokesh Joshi opening the day.

The Research & Innovation Symposium showcased the impact of NUI Galway’s research which reverberates internationally. James Dillon, Research Impact Manager in Queens University, Belfast spoke about supporting the research community in the pathway to impact, before joining a panel discussion with NUI Galway’s: Jacinta Thornton, Associate Director, Innovation Office; Claire O’Connor, Director of Institutional Research; Edel Murphy, Public and Patient Involvement (PPI); and Tony O’Flaherty, Head of National Research Programmes, Research Office.

Threesis talks by PhD students Siobhán Morrissey, School of Humanities, and James Blackwell, School of Physics and a student entrepreneurship talk by Aaron Hannon, School of Engineering were followed by a second panel discussion centred on Research Perspectives. The panel was made up by Professor Molly Byrne, School of Psychology; Professor Vincent O’Flaherty, School of Natural Sciences; Dr Sharon Glynn, School of Medicine; and Professor Siobhán Mullally, Director of the Irish Centre for Human Rights; and Dr Nessa Cronin, Centre for Irish Studies and Moore Institute.

The Symposium also featured the NUI Galway President’s Research Excellence Awards rewards and celebrated the outstanding contributions of academic and research staff to excellent, relevant, and innovative research that enhances our university's reputation at an international level. Recipients were: 

· Dr Su-Ming Khoo from the School of Political Science and Sociology for her research into the academic quality in Irish and South African Universities.
· Professor Paul Murphy from the School of Chemistry for his research in the development of inhibitors of carbohydrate binding proteins including those involved in infection, inflammation and cancer.
· Dr Lorraine Morgan from the School of Business and Economics, for her research in Open Source Software, Inner Source, Open Business Models, Value Networks and Crowdsourcing.
· Dr John McCrae, Data Science Institute, for his work on the development of data about languages around the world.
· Professor John Canavan from the School of Political Science and Sociology for his work with UNESCO Child and Family Centre and the Child Welfare Sector.
· Professor Dympna Casey from the School of Nursing and Midwifery for her work on the MARIO Project, a companion robot for people living with dementia.
· Professor Martin O’Halloran from the Colleges of Medicine and Engineering for his work on the design and commercialisation of novel patient-centred medical devices.

<For more on the President's award click here>

Research and Innovation Symposium 2018

The 2018 event took place on 19 September, with NUI Galway President, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh and Galway Vice-President for  Research, Professor Lokesh Joshi opening the day.

keynote talk on 'Open Research' was delivered by Dr Lidia Borrell-Damian, Director of Research at the Europ2018ean University Association (EUA). This was followed by a panel discussion with NUI Galway's Professor Dan Carey, Moore Institute; John Cox, James Hardiman Library; Dr Elaine Toomey, Health Behaviour Change Research Group; and Professor Mathieu D’Aquin, Insight Centre for Data Analytics.

Later in the Symposium, 'Innovation and Collaboration' was the topic of a talk by Dr Thomas Jørgensen, Senior Policy Coordinator, at the EUA. Joining the panel discussion that followed were NUI Galway's Fiona Neary, Innovation Office; Dr Majella Giblin, School of Business and Economics;  Dr Kate Reddington, School of Microbiology and BioProbe; and from Fidelity Investments, Ireland - Fintan O’Malley.

The event also saw the awarding of the President's Awards for Research Excellence and the Ryan Award for Innovation.