Academic Staff

Prof Lucy Byrnes
Personal Professor

Embryonic development in zebrafish

lucy.byrnes@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2416

direct line 353-91-492416

Dr Michael Carty
Senior Lecturer, 
 
Responses to DNA damage in human cells

michael.carty@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 3695
direct line 353-91-493695

Dr Peter Creighton 
Lecturer

peter.creighton@nuigalway.ie
Ext:3654
direct line 353-91-493654

Dr Elaine Dunleavy 
Senior Lecturer

Centromere regulation in meiosis

elaine.dunleavy@nuigalway.ie
Ext:4046
direct line 353-91-494046

Dr Andrew Flaus
Lecturer

How nucleosome structure enables chromatin function.
Using technology to enhance teaching.

andrew.flaus@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 5482

direct line 353-91-495482

Prof Uri Frank
Professor
Stem cells and regeneration

uri.frank@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2334
direct line 353-91-492334

Prof Adrienne Gorman
Professor, Director of Biochemistry Postgraduate Studies

Mechanisms of cell death and survival

adrienne.gorman@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2417
direct line 353-91-492417

Dr Muriel Grenon
Lecturer
Science Outreach and Public Engagement

muriel.grenon@nuigalway.ie
Ext:5848
direct line 353-91-495848

Prof  Bob Lahue
Professor, Head of Discipline

Trinucleotide repeat instability and mutagenesis

bob.lahue@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 5756
direct line 353-91-495756

Dr Elaine Lahue
Lecturer

elaine.lahue@nuigalway.ie

Prof Noel Lowndes
Established Professor
Eukaryotic DNA damage responses

noel.lowndes@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2415
direct line 353-91-492415

Prof Brian McStay
Professor
Gene expression and nuclear structure

brian.mcstay@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2423
direct line 353-91-492423

Dr Derek Morris
Lecturer in Biomedical Science, Biochemistry
Human Genetic variation and risk of disease

derek.morris@nuigalway.ie
Ext:4439
direct line 353- 91-494439

Prof Ciaran Morrison
Professor

DNA damage and the cell cycle

ciaran.morrison@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2056
direct line 353-91-492056

Prof  Heinz Peter Nasheuer
Professor
Control of DNA replication in the eukaryotic cell cycle

heinz.nasheuer@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2430
direct line 353-91-492430

Dr Lynn O'Connor
Lecturer
Molecular control of Adipogenesis

lynn.oconnor@nuigalway.ie  
Ext:3637

direct line 353-91-49637

Dr Stephen Rea
Lecturer
Epigenetic regulation of gene expression

stephen.rea@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 5750
direct line 353-91-495750

Prof Corrado Santocanale
Professor
Mechanism of Genome duplication

corrado.santocanale@nuigalway.ie
Ext:5174
direct line 353-91-495174

Prof Afshin Samali
Established Professor

Cellular stress and apoptosis

afshin.samali@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2440
direct line 353-91-492440

Dr Gerhard Schlosser
Lecturer
Developmental Neurobiology

gerhard.schlosser@nuigalway.ie
Ext:5978
direct line 353-91-495978

Prof Kevin Sullivan
Professor

Centromere biology

kevin.sullivan@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2434
direct line 353-91-492434

Dr  Eva Szegezdi 
Senior Lecturer
Cell death and apoptosis

eva.szegezdi@nuigalway.ie
Ext:5037
direct line 353-91-495037

Dr Maria Tuohy
Lecturer

Fungal glycoproteins- glycosyl hydrolases, oxidoreductases and proteases

maria.tuohy@nuigalway.ie
Ext: 2439
direct line 353-91-492439