Welcome to School of Chemistry Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Homepage

The School of Chemistry supports Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, through fostering a vibrant community of student and staff and upholding the principles of the Equality Challenge Unit’s Athena Swan Charter. The School seeks to provide an environment in which staff and students feel supported and valued and in which all forms of staff and student achievements are recognised.

What is Athena SWAN?

As part of the Equality and Diversity Initiative, the School is preparing for an application in November 2020 for departmental Athena Swan Bronze Award accreditation

 Athena image

The Athena Swan charter is focused on addressing gender inequality in academia, and ensuring equality, opportunity and fair working conditions for all.

It has been developed to encourage and recognise commitment to combating the underrepresentation of women in (initially) STEMM research and academia.

Regular updates on the application will be communicated to the School and there will be an opportunity for staff to comment on the developing draft application during the drafting process.

The members of the Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT)

Academic, Admin and Technical Panel

Prof. Paul V. Murphy (Chair), Prof. Dónal Leech, Dr. David Cheung, Dr. Styliana Mirallai, Mr. Dermot McGrath, Dr. Constantina Papatriantafyllopoulou, Ms. Judy Buckley, Ms. Tonya Watts, Dr. Miriam Byrne

Student Panel

Eoin Hever, Nathan Boles, Matthew Murray, Sabrinna Crowley, Emily Gavigan, Cheyenne Dunne


College EDI

College EDI

College of Science & Engineering EDI

Click Here!