(Structured PhD) Medicine

College of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Sciences,
School of Medicine

Course overview

The Discipline offers supervision in a wide area of medical interest. To pursue a Structured PhD degree, potential candidates should discuss the matter with the Head of Discipline.

Programmes available

Structured PhD (full-time, four years)

Structured PhD (part-time, six years)

Areas of interest

  • Developmental therapeutics
  • Regenerative medicine
  • Clinical trials
  • Health services research
  • Diabetes & Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Respiratory
  • Cardiology
  • Neurology
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Dermatology
  • Haematology
  • Medical Oncology
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Palliative Care
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Rheumatology
  • Nephrology

Researcher profiles

Prof. Timothy O'Brien
Head of Discipline of Medicine / Director of REMEDI
timothy.obrien@nuigalway.ie

 

Prof. Kieran Daly
kieran.daly@hse.i e
Cardiology

 

Prof. Eamon Mulkerrin / Dr. Shaun O'Keeffe
eamon.mulkerrin@hse.ie / s.okeeffe@hse.ie  
Geriatrics

 

Dr. John Lee
John.lee@hse.ie
Gastroenterology / Hepatology

 

Dr. Timothy Counihan / Dr. Michael Hennessy
Timothy.counihan@hse.ie / Michael.hennessy@hse.ie 
Neurology

 

Dr. Pauline Marren / Dr. Trevor Markham / Dr. Lesley Anne Murphy
Pauline.marren@hse.ie / Trevor.markham@hse.ieLesleyA.murphy@hse.ie 
Dermatology

 

Prof. M. O'Dwyer
Michael.odwyer@hse.ie
Haematology

 

Dr. Maccon Keane / Dr. Paul Donnellan
Maccon.keane@hse.ie / paul.donnellan@hse.ie
Medical Oncology

 

Prof. Frank Sullivan
Frank.sullivan@hse.ie
Radiation Oncology

 

Dr. Dympna Waldron
Dympna.waldron@hse.ie
Palliative Care

 

Dr. Catherine Fleming
Catherine.fleming@hse.ie
Infectious Diseases

 

Prof. J.J. Gilmartin / Dr. Anthony O'Regan
jj.gilmartin@hse.ie / anthony.oregan@hse.ie
Respiratory Medicine

 

Dr. David Lappin / Dr. Donal Reddan
david.lappin@hse.ie / donal.reddan@hse.ie
Nephrology

 

Dr. Robert Coughlan / Dr. John Carey
bobbycoughlan@yahoo.ie / john.carey@hse.ie
Rheumatology

Contact Us

For more information please view the School of Medicine webpage

PAC code

Structured PhD,
full-time-GYP06
part-time-GYP24

Current project

Fees for this course

EU: €4,529 p.a. 2017/18

Non-EU: €13,750 p.a. 2017/18