(Structured PhD) Medicine

College of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Sciences,
School of Medicine

Course overview

The Discipline offers supervision in a wide area of medical interest. To pursue a Structured PhD degree, potential candidates should discuss the matter with the Head of Discipline.

Programmes available

Structured PhD (full-time, four years)

Structured PhD (part-time, six years)

Entry requirements

PhD candidates should normally have a high honours standard in a relevant academic discipline at primary degree level or equivalent together with the support of an academic staff member who is approved by the College to supervise the research in terms of its nature and scope.

Additional entry requirements
Candidates may be required to submit a research proposal for consideration by the School as part of their application.

Areas of interest

  • Developmental therapeutics
  • Regenerative medicine
  • Clinical trials
  • Health services research
  • Diabetes & Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Respiratory
  • Cardiology
  • Neurology
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Dermatology
  • Haematology
  • Medical Oncology
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Palliative Care
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Rheumatology
  • Nephrology

Researcher profiles

Prof. Timothy O'Brien
Head of Discipline of Medicine / Director of REMEDI


Prof. Kieran Daly
kieran.daly@hse.i e


Prof. Eamon Mulkerrin / Dr. Shaun O'Keeffe
eamon.mulkerrin@hse.ie / s.okeeffe@hse.ie  


Dr. John Lee
Gastroenterology / Hepatology


Dr. Timothy Counihan / Dr. Michael Hennessy
Timothy.counihan@hse.ie / Michael.hennessy@hse.ie 


Dr. Pauline Marren / Dr. Trevor Markham / Dr. Lesley Anne Murphy
Pauline.marren@hse.ie / Trevor.markham@hse.ieLesleyA.murphy@hse.ie 


Prof. M. O'Dwyer


Dr. Maccon Keane / Dr. Paul Donnellan
Maccon.keane@hse.ie / paul.donnellan@hse.ie
Medical Oncology


Prof. Frank Sullivan
Radiation Oncology


Dr. Dympna Waldron
Palliative Care


Dr. Catherine Fleming
Infectious Diseases


Prof. J.J. Gilmartin / Dr. Anthony O'Regan
jj.gilmartin@hse.ie / anthony.oregan@hse.ie
Respiratory Medicine


Dr. David Lappin / Dr. Donal Reddan
david.lappin@hse.ie / donal.reddan@hse.ie


Dr. Robert Coughlan / Dr. John Carey
bobbycoughlan@yahoo.ie / john.carey@hse.ie

Contact Us

For more information please view the School of Medicine webpage

PAC code

Structured PhD,

Current project

Fees for this course

EU: €4,529 p.a. 2016/17

Non-EU: €13,750 p.a. 2016/17