Annual Doctoral Seminars

17th Annual Doctoral Seminar Program (2018)

The Irish Centre for Human Rights hosted its 17th Annual Doctoral Seminar from 23-27 April 2018. PhD candidates and faculty were joined by visiting scholars Professor Jaya Ramji-Nogales (Temple University), Professor Diane Marie Amann (University of Georgia), Dr. John Reynolds (Maynooth University), and Professor William Schabas (Middlesex University). The Doctoral Seminar is a vibrant and engaging event which comprises the highlight of the academic year for the community of doctoral students. During the seminar, PhD candidates had the opportunity to share part of their ongoing research and to receive feedback from visiting academics, the Centre’s faculty and their own peers. A variety of topics covering international criminal law, human rights, international humanitarian law and socio-legal studies featured during the week’s presentations.

 Each visiting expert gave a special lecture during the week. In “Figuring Women into the Nuremberg Trials”, Professor Amann explored the scarcely known role of women during the post-war trials, while Professor Ramji-Nogales spoke of legal efforts to address the complexities of global migration in our times in a talke entitled “What is Global Migration Law?”. Dr. Reynolds, a Centre graduate presented on “International Law at the Border: Libya, Italy, and the Space Between”, in which he explored migration and refugee issues from the perspective of the Third World Approaches to International Law. Professor Schabas discussed his book project “The Trial of the Kaiser”.

 During the doctoral seminar week, the Centre hosted the launch of Arcs of Global Justice: Essays in Honour of William A. Schabas (Oxford University Press). This book is a tribute to the considerable contribution to scholarship of Professor Schabas and is co-edited by Professor Amann and Professor Margaret DeGuzman (Temple University). Professor Amann launched the book at NUI Galway, followed by some remarks from Professor Schabas.

 WS BOOK LAUNCHPhD seminar group pic

Irish Centre for Human Rights Annual Doctoral Seminar


Professor Marsha Freeman, University of Minnesota
Professor Anthony Anghie, University of Utah
Dr Yvonne McDermott, Bangor University


Professor Surya Deva, City University Hong Kong
Professor Fiona de Londras, Professor of Global Legal Studies, Deputy Head of Birmingham Law School
Dr. Brian Farrell, University of Iowa


Professor Yutaka Arai Takahashi, University of Kent at Brussels
Dr. Annyssa Bellal, Geneva Call
Professor Jeroen Temperman, Erasmus University Rotterdam


Professor Bill Bowring, Birkbeck, University of London
Professor Siobhán Mullally, Centre for Human Rights and Criminal Justice, University College Cork
Dr. Edel Hughes, University of East London


Professor Martti Koskenniemi, Director of the Erik Castrén Institute of International Law and Human Rights,
Professor William Schabas, Honorary Chairman of the Irish Centre for Human Rights
Dr. Michelle Farrell, Senior Lecturer at Liverpool University


Michael O'Flaherty, Human Rights Law Centre, University of Nottingham
Professor Suzannah Linton, Bangor University, Wales
 Dr. David Keane (Middlesex University, London), and Professor Koen De Feyter (University of Antwerp, Netherlands)


Dr. Patricia Sellers, Legal Advisor for Gender Related Crimes and Deputy Head of the Legal Advisory Section, Office of the Prosecutor, UN, ICTY, International Criminal Prosecutor Special Legal Advisor to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
Professor Ian Scobbie, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London


Professor David Weissbrodt, University of Minnesota Human Rights Center
Dr. Jérémie Gilbert, Senior Lecturer, Middlesex University
Professor Sir Nigel Rodley, Professor of Law and Chair of the Human Rights Centre at the University of Essex


Dr. Michael Kearney, University of York
Professor Douglass Cassel, Director of Notre Dame Law School, Center for Civil and Human Rights
Professor Louis Wolcher, Charles I. Stone Professor of Law, University of Washington School of Law


Professor Anita Ramasastry, Associate Prof. University of Washington School of Law
Professor Alfred De Zayas, Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations; former UN senior lawyer
Professor Semih Gemalmaz, University of Istanbul


Professor Kevin Boyle, Director, Human Rights Centre, University of Essex
Professor Ralph Steinhardt, The George Washington University Law School
Professor Francois Crepeau, University of Montreal


Dr. Christina Cerna, Georgetown University
Professor David Forsythe, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Justice Richard J. Goldstone, former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa, Fordham University
Professor Zoran Paijic, King's College London


Professor Fionnuala Ní Aoláin, University of Ulster
Professor David Kretzmer, Hebrew University
Professor Alexandre Sicilianos, University of Athens
Dr. Markus Schmidt, Human Rights Committee