President's Awards for Excellence

The annual President’s Awards for Research Excellence rewards and celebrates the outstanding contributions of academic and research staff to excellent research.

To view the entire list of recipients over the years, click here. In 2020, six individuals were awarded across three categories:

 Research Supervisor Awardees 2020
:: Dr. Eoin Whelan, Senior Lecturer in Business Information Systems at the National University of Ireland, Galway. His research explores the psychology underlying engagement with interactive digital media such as smartphones, social networking sites, fitness tracking apps, and online gambling and gaming sites.  

:: Professor Dearbháile Morris, Personal Professor of Antimicrobial Resistance and One Health in the School of Medicine. She is also Director of the Ryan Institute Centre for One Health at NUI Galway. Her research interests include antimicrobial resistance, food and water-borne pathogens, emerging contaminants, the societal impact of infection and One Health.

Early Stage Researcher Awardees 2020
:: Dr. Thomas McDermott is the Galway University Foundation Lecturer in the Economics of Climate Change and Development, based in the School of Business and Economics, and Director of the  MSc in Global Environmental Economics. He is a Visiting Fellow at the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, London School of Economics. His research focuses on environmental and development economics, the economic impacts of extreme weather events such as floods, and public policy related to adaptation to climate change.

:: Dr. Eimear Dolan, a Science Foundation Ireland Royal Society University Research Fellow and Lecturer Biomedical Engineering. Earlier this year, she was named in MIT Technology Review’s annual list of Innovators Under 35 as one of 10 global visionaries. Her key research interest is in medical devices, their effect on the host cells and coupling therapies to minimally invasive delivery devices.

Established Researcher Awardees 2020
:: Dr. Jane Walsh, is the Director of the Mobile Technology and Health (mHealth) Research Group where she is leading research on the use of novel technologies to develop personalised interventions to promote health behaviour. She is leading and collaborating on over €8 million euro of projects including those funded by Horizon 2020, the Health Research Board, the Irish Cancer Society and Science Foundation Ireland.

:: Professor Ines Thiele, principal investigator of the Molecular Systems Physiology group at NUI Galway. Her research aims to understand how diet influences human health. Her team develops and uses comprehensive, computational models of human and gut microbial metabolism and applies them to neurodegenerative diseases, such as Alzheimer's disease and Parkinson's disease. Professor Thiele is an ERC Fellow and was recently listed among the top 1% of highly-cited researcher in the world by Clarivate.

To view the entire list of recipients over the years, click here.