gradireland Higher Education Awards

HE Awards 2017 #3 Pictured left, NUI Galway staff celebrating winning awards across two categories at the gradireland Higher Education Awards, November 2016.
L–R: Dr Frances Fahy, Ms Stacey Power, Ms Laura Dempsey, Ms Sarah Geraghty, Ms Sadhbh Picilaidis, Dr Mary Ní Fhlathartaigh, Ms Aileen GillMs Sinéad Ní Ghuidhir
Back Row (left to right) Ms Claire Quinn
Mr Seán Ó Grádaigh, Mr Joseph Mooney, Ms Marguerita McGovern

The gradireland Higher Education Awards  (formerly known as the gradireland Postgraduate Course of the Year Awards) have been taking place annually since 2012. These Awards aim to recognise and celebrate the calibre of postgraduate courses all across Ireland. Courses are judged on such criteria as employability, links with industry, the student experience, and research excellence record of its academics. These awards are now widely recognised and firmly established with HEIs and other stakeholders across Ireland and internationally. 

The winners of the 2017 gradireland Higher Education Awards were announced in November 2016: NUI Galway programmes were nominated ten times across four categories and our team proudly took home two awards on the day.

Science award

HE Awards 2017 #2 L–R: Ms Louise Clarke (Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist AbbVie lreland), Dr Mary Ní Fhlathartaigh, Lecturer & Academic Coordinator MSc Biotechnology, NUI Galway, Ms Aileen Gill, Academic Coordinator, MSc Biotechnology, and Ms Ailbhe Lee, Employer Marketing Consultant, gradireland.

The winner in the Science category was the MSc in Biotechnology, National University of Ireland, Galway which has now taken home this award twice in a row, for more information on this programme click here

New Course award

HE Awards award-winner #1 L–R: Mr Gerry O Sullivan, Head of International, Higher Education Authority, Dr Peter McKeown, MScCCAFS Programme Co-ordinator, Ms Ailbhe Lee, Employer Marketing Consultant, gradireland

The most hotly contested award at the event was for Best New Course, with NUI Galway nominated four times in this category, and we are delighted to announce that the MSc in Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security (MSc.CCAFS) took home the prize. To explore this programme further or to apply click here. 

Postgraduate Course of the Year Awards: April 2016 

Our MSc in Biotechnology was shortlisted in the Science course category for 2016, and went on to win the Award for Postgraduate Science Course of the Year at a ceremony in The Mansion House, Dublin, on 28 April 2016.


We had two courses shortlisted for these Awards in 2015 , and in 2015 again took home the award for best Information Technology course. Our MSc Biotechnology was the runner-up in the Science course category.

Shortlisted 2015:
Winner 2015:


We had FOUR courses shortlisted for these Awards in 2014 (the most courses shortlisted for any Irish Higher Education Institution), and this year again took home the award for best Business course. Read more here

Shortlisted 2014:

Winner(s) 2014:


We had a record EIGHT courses shortlisted for the Irish Postgraduate Course of the YeaAwards 2013. We won in three of the five major categories: best Business course, best Engineering course, and best Science course.